It’s Fair Time!

Ahhh…Summertime! Warm weather, gardening, swimming in the local pond, and, best of all, County Fair Time!

Here in the Midwest, we take our County Fairs seriously! It’s 7 days of Fair Fish, checking Grand Champion Socksout 4-H Projects, Hog Wrestling, Demo Derby, rides and games, and hearing local and some national  celebrity musicians play at the outdoor auditorium! In our county, practically everybody attends so you spend most nights visiting with neighbors, friends, and relatives! The Fair Queen is usually someone I know (except now it’s someone I know’s granddaughter!) so you chat with her and her court.

County Fairs usually have an Open Class competition in which you can enter your knitting, crochet, garden vegetables, cake decorating, photography, quilts, etc. I love the Fair so of course I enter! Our Fair iFair 3rd Places held around the first of July so the month of June is when I check out my past year’s projects to determine which ones to enter. Most years, I get a blue ribbon but one year I won Grand Champion! Hooray! I’ve pictured here some Fair winning entries.

Do you enter your County Fair Open Class Exhibits? Tell me how you did!

Fair 1st Place

6 responses to “It’s Fair Time!

  1. Love the watermelon socks – very clever! You’ve given me something to aim for as I embark on my very first sock knitting adventure.

Leave a Reply

