Where Seldom Is Heard A Discouraging Word

I was reading One Skein Wonderwoman’s blog  the other day and she noted how a clerk at a Michael’s store discouraged her from trying more challenging knitting for a while. It got me to thinking about all of those nay-sayers who belittle other crafters.

I had a similar experience as Cindy the One Skein Wonderwoman. Mine was with the owner of a now-defunct yarn shop. As a young bride with not much money, I stopped in her shop to purchase yarn but it all seemed so expensive and I said so. Her response was: “If you can’t afford my yarns, you probably shouldn’t knit.” I was flabbergasted and a little embarrassed so I left.

Then there are the “knitter police,” who take it upon themselves to tell others, “You’re not knitting correctly!” Don’t forget the “yarn snobs,” who wrinkle their noses in disdain for any yarn that’s not 100% natural fibers! And for crocheter’s, there are the “knitting nazis” who tell them that they are bad for crocheting and not knitting.

I don’t know why folks feel the need to be so nasty, but I try not to let them discourage me. That’s why, when I run across those who ask me, as I am busy KIPing, “What are you crocheting?” I simply tell them I am knitting and explain my project. I feel it’s my duty to educate those who may not be aware of the difference.

By the way, I never did go back to that shop. At that time, I did not have Ravelry or the internet, so I did not know anyone around me who was knitting. But I did have Mary Maxim. I made many nice garments with her yarn and my skills grew and grew.

So, don’t let those discouraging words bring you down, cowboy! Here’s to your skies not being cloudy all day!!!

Oh, give me a home where the buffalo roam,
Where the deer and the antelope play,
Where seldom is heard a discouraging word
And the skies are not cloudy all day.

Chorus  Home, home on the range,Where the deer and the antelope play; Where seldom is heard a discouraging word And the skies are not cloudy all day.

TTFN!

6 responses to “Where Seldom Is Heard A Discouraging Word

  1. I’m glad you weren’t discouraged by yarn snobs!

    • Now that I know about knitting with natural yarns, I most often prefer them. But I do like to use acrylics and other yarns for certain projects! I like to think that we can all get along together! 🙂 Thanks for your comments!

  2. I wish every shop was like Cheryl’s. Can you imagine having one in every city. The knitting world would be a happier place!

  3. Oh yea! I love Atkinson’s Farm Yarns. She is absolutely delightful to work with. That gives me an idea for a post one day on my favorite shops and why.

  4. my goodness, the knit world doesnt need any discouraging yarn shop owners….. I knew of a store that spoke that language…and it didn’t survive.
    I love a yarn shop where all levels are celebrated and encouraged.!

  5. I do, too, Kathy B. I was telling a few folks in this area this story and they recognized the owner, so apparently I wasn’t the only one she snubbed.

Leave a Reply

