Monkeys and Tigers and Bears! Oh My!

As many of you know, I love, love, love to knit socks. Mostly I knit what’s known as the “plain, vanilla” socks. They are the kind that have no pattern, other than maybe a ribbing pattern, but they look wonderful in the terrific colorways that are now available in just about any price range.

But, once in a while, I get the urge to knit more “fancy-schmancy” socks! Like Cookie A’s Monkey Socks. That is one of the socks that is recommended for the June Year of Stash Socks group on Ravelry. The rule is that you must knit the socks from  your stash yarn. So I’ve found some Lorna’s Laces that was dyed for The Loopy Ewe a few years back for The Loopy’s Anniversary. I’ve cast on and knitted about 1/3 of the way already.

Now I know why people rave about this pattern! It’s a lot of fun! My only complaint is that I have to knit on US Size 0 needles, because normally 64 stitch socks are too large for my dainty, Cinderella feet (size 5’s!).

So, in honor of one of my favorite movies The Wizard of Oz, I checked Ravelry’s pattern database to find Tiger Socks and, of course, Bear Socks! I may have to do all three…Monkeys and Tigers and Bears! Oh my!

(A side note, I did not find any Lion socks…but there are lots of Lion Brand Yarns in which to knit or crochet the socks! LOL!)

TTFN!

2 responses to “Monkeys and Tigers and Bears! Oh My!

  1. Im partial to the TIGER socks, and love all thing OZ

  2. sockknitter1215

    Me, too! Did you know there was a Wizard of Oz group on Ravelry? Not much chatter on it, but I might put my blog post on there.

Leave a Reply

