Four Projects—No Waiting!

Toe Up Socks Knit from Lorna's Laces

A number of knitters, myself included, like to have several different projects on the needles so that we don’t get bored with just the one project! I try to limit these WIPs (Works-in-Progress) to three or four so I don’t get too many UFO’s (Unfinished Objects)!

In my purse, I always keep a sock knitting as I can pick them up and do them for quick, short periods of time. The Rambling Rows Afghan is one that I started last fall and I am very close to finishing it; the Lucy Bag was started soon after New Year’s Day, and I recently started a red Clapotis lace wrap, which will be a birthday gift for my good friend, Andrea P.

I think that I need to come up with a plan like my friend Lisa B. does when she knits large projects: She figures out when she wants the project to be completed, then divides the total number of rows (or inches) needed to complete it by the number of days/nights she has to knit. She’ll say, “For such and such, I knit 10 rows and then I either read or knit on something else.” In fact, she sometimes designates days for each project: i.e. Monday is socks, Tuesday is sweater, etc.

Perhaps I’ll get one of the four finished this weekend! Cross your fingers for me!

TTFN!

Cindy

12 responses to “Four Projects—No Waiting!

  1. I try to be faithful, but sometimes I need more than one thing going. But if too much gets on the needles, other things fall by the wayside and become UFOs. Then I have to decide if I am really going to finish the UFO or not. Some have been on the needles for 5-6 years!

    • sockknitter1215

      I hate to admit this, but I do have some projects languishing in my closets, too. I just don’t think of them as “current” because they are mostly in “time out!”

  2. I do love Lorna’s Laces . . . those are some cute socks!

  3. Pretty socks. Love the colors. Your friend has a cool system. I have tried something like that in the past, but never kept up with the schedule. In the end, I just knit whatever catches my interest at a particular moment.

  4. Oh, to be as organized as your pal – I just do the math thinking I’m knitting x stitches in a minute, so it will take ages before I can finish, no matter how many rows I fit in at a time.

    • sockknitter1215

      I’m not quite as organized as Lisa. I did, however, set up a system for my Christmas knitting. I’ll blog about that later in July.

  5. Love the socks and the color. I’d love to keep a project in my purse. What a great idea!

    • sockknitter1215

      I think that I have kept a sock knitting in my purse almost from the time I learned to do socks. I do love short projects!

  6. Oh good! It’s nice to know I’m not the only one who keeps half-knitted socks tucked into my purse. The socks are like my version of a visa card. I never leave home without it!

    • sockknitter1215

      I soo agree on the sock-knitting. That’s why I have been looking for a good “plain vanilla” type toe-up sock pattern. I keep those type of projects in my purse and knit as I can. Thanks for your comment and for loving this post! –Cindy

Leave a Reply

